Does Single Mean Alone 2

Music means a lot to me.  I seem to get more out of a song, say, than I would plain prose.  So, after I wrote the post yesterday, Does Single Mean Alone, I heard a song I haven’t heard for a long time by a Christian group, Tenth Avenue North.  It’s called “By Your Side” and I think it really speaks to the main question I raised yesterday, namely as Christians are we ever really alone?

By Your Side                                                                                                              Tenth Avenue North

Why are you striving these days                                                                                   Why are you trying to earn grace                                                                                       Why are you crying                                                                                                         Let me lift up your face                                                                                                  Just don’t turn away

Why are you looking for love                                                                                        Why are you still searching as if I’m not enough                                                             To where will you go child                                                                                               Tell me where will you run                                                                                               To where will you run

And I’ll be by your side                                                                                         Wherever you fall                                                                                                              In the dead of night,                                                                                            Whenever you call                                                                                                         And please don’t fight,                                                                                                These hands that are holding you                                                                                  My hands are holding you

Look at these hands at my side                                                                                    They swallowed the grave on that night                                                                      When I drank the world’s sin                                                                                           So I could carry you in                                                                                                    And give you life                                                                                                                 I want to give you life

Cause I, I love you I want you to know

That I, I love you I’ll never let you go

Leave a Reply

