Is Something Wrong With Me?

“Hey, Mary, I met another single Christian!”

My friend was very excited about this apparently rare event.

“Single and forty?  What is he like?”

“Well, he’s a decent guy…”

We look at eachother and I say, “There’s got to be something wrong with him if he’s 40 and still single!”  We giggle together until…

…I realize that I’m forty and single!  Wait a minute!  Is there something wrong with me?  Is this what people say after meeting me?  “There’s got to be something wrong with her…”

The problem with this thought process is that it is not only the non-singles that may think it but we singles as well.  I have on occasion wondered if there WAS something wrong with me.  In my less kind moments I have come across someone who was less than appealing to me and in my base, human way wondered how come they were dating/engaged/married and I was not.  I’m prettier, more intelligent, more social, more well-traveled, have better hair, dress better, drive a better car, can run faster, know my way around my community better, have better running shoes, have nicer lips…yeah, it gets kind of sad, doesn’t it?

So, is this the Urban Myth that we singles hold about ourselves in the darkest, most hidden parts of our psyche?  Is there something wrong with me?  Is this why I’m single?

As the Christian Single Myth Buster I will remind you firstly of what we have already addressed in a previous post:

You are single because this is God’s will for you.  No one has looked at you and scoffed and walked away–God has chosen singleness for you as His best for you.

Secondly, I have to remind of what you already should know:

1).  God created you and made you like Him.  Genesis 1:26a–Then God said, “Let us make man in our image, in our likeness…”  If we are made in the image of God how can there be anything “wrong” with us?

2).  God loves you.  “For I am the Lord, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour; I give Egypt for your ransom[,] since you are precious and honoured in my sight, and because I love you…”  Isaiah 43 parts of verse 3 and 4.  You are precious to God!

3).  God gave His only Begotten for you.  “For God so loved the world [you] that He gave His one and only Son…”  John 3:16

4).  Christ willingly gave himself for you.  “Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.  Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.”  Hebrews 12:2,3

5).  Through Christ we are God’s children.  “How great is love the Father has lavished on us, that we might be called the children of God!” 1 John 3:1a.  You know what this makes us?  Princes and Princesses, of course!

All right then, we might be prettier, more intelligent, more social, more well-traveled, have better hair, dress better, drive a better car, can run faster, know our way around our community better, have better running shoes, and have nicer lips and still be single.

Does this mean there is something wrong with us?

ABSOLUTELY NOT!  The world around might not understand this, and sometimes we might not believe it ourselves, but there is nothing “wrong” with us.  Actually, there is something RIGHT  with us–we are following God’s plan, even when the going gets tough.

And please, don’t ever forget who you are in Christ!

Who am I?  by Margaret Becker

Who am I, Jesus
That You call me by name…
I am counting the stars
On Your blackened sky
You call them all by name, You know them all by sight
In this sea of lights
I sense Your majesty
And I break at the thought that One so great
Could care for me
Who am I, Jesus
That You could call me by name
What could I ever do
To be loved this way
Who am I, Jesus
In Your eyes, tell me, who am I
I am counting the mountains
That I’ve laid at Your feet
And I’m reduced to tears when I think of how
You’ve moved them for me
In this storm of life
You’ve been my safe retreat
Through the wind and the fire You always were there
To carry me

Who am I, Jesus
That You could call me by name
What could I ever do
To be loved this way
Who am I, Jesus
In Your eyes, tell me, who am I

Leave a Reply

