We Are Not Contagious

We single people are not contagious.

Admittedly, as C.S. Lewis says, if we are Christians we do have the ‘good infection’.

He (Christ) came to this world and became a man in order to spread to other men the kind of life He has–by what I call ‘good infection’.  –from Mere Christianity (C.S Lewis).

Yes, we have the ‘good infection’ of life in Christ, however, we don’t have anything else that’s catching;  specifically, our ‘singleness’ is not contagious.

Why do I say this?  It seems to me that in our churches singles are looked at a little by their non-single friends and church family members as if they have the plague–people feel uncomfortable around us, not sure what to say.  They seem reluctant to invite us to their homes, or out for dinner, or to various events. They seem unsure of what to do with, or say to, the one without the ‘plus one’.

Listen carefully, non-single friends, family and churches–if you invite us to your home your husband/wife will NOT leave you, your parents won’t divorce, and your fiance will NOT die (you also won’t have to throw out the dishes that we touched, and you won’t have to be decontaminated after we leave).

I must say that have been very blessed by those around me.  My best friend and her husband have invited me out with them on Valentine’s Day!  My church family invites me out frequently and they even invite me into their homes. 🙂  My brother and sister-in-law always include me in outings and dinners and family times.  I have adopted many nieces and nephews along the way and God has blessed me through them and, in turn, has used me to minister to them.  God has been very gracious to me and has blessed me greatly throught the ministry of my family, friends and church family.

So I encourage you, family and friends of singles–invite them to your home, out for dinner, to games nights.  Talk to them about whatever comes to mind.  Don’t be afraid of doing or saying something ‘wrong’, just treat your single friends as you would anyone.  Remember them around the holidays and during the regular times of the year.  Include them in your family.  You will benefit from their involvement and you will be ministering to them in a significant way.

Do remember that the term ‘single’ also includes those who used to be married and for whatever reason are no longer so.

“Don’t walk behind me; I may not lead. Don’t walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.”
―    Albert Camus

Leave a Reply

