Blame

To BLAME:  Assign responsibility for a fault or wrong. (from Google)

It is my impression that no one is responsible for any action today–it seems to always be someone else’s fault.  I feel bad for the guy on the bottom of any totem pole because when it comes to passing the blame buck he has no one else to pass it on to!

You can’t blame gravity for falling in love. Albert Einstein

Passing or assigning blame has become an epidemic in our society and perhaps around the world and I suppose this is because there are consequences that have to be meted out in certain circumstances.

But really, why can’t we stop wasting our time passing blame?

Let us not seek to fix the blame for the past. Let us accept our own responsibility for the future. John F. Kennedy
People blame God for all sorts of things today, from mosquito bites to death and mayhem.  I used to blame God for my being single.  I thought if God is in control and all powerful, then how come He put me in a world that seems to rotate around couples and He hasn’t given me the chance to be in a ‘couple’?  This does bring up a few interesting points.  Firstly, the view of the world on singles and non-singles (this we will deal with in a future post).  Secondly, what did I mean by “if God is in control”?  Obviously, I was dealing with doubts about more than my singleness at that point!  (I’m better now…well, a work in progress!).Thirdly, though, and really the point of this post:  blame refers to assigning responsibility for a fault or wrong, according to Google, but what fault or wrong is there in me being single?  As mentioned before, we are single because this is God’s best for us.  How can there be a fault or a wrong in that?  Would we prefer not to have the best?  Would we prefer to have what we want rather than what God knows is for our own good?

Hmmm…good questions…

The beauty of our position is that God gives us the freedom of choice.  It is up to us.  Will we follow Him and be content and confident in where He leads, or will we take the steering wheel into our own hands and dictate our own direction? The beauty and the responsibility of our position…

Liberty not only means that the individual has both the opportunity and the burden of choice; it also means that he must bear the consequences of his actions … Liberty and responsibility are inseparable.  Freidrich Hayek

Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

God truly does have your best interest at heart!  If you don’t believe this or if you still want to blame God, perhaps you’re dealing with doubt as I did.  Doubt is not a bad thing necessarily. It can challenge you, stretch you and grow you into a stronger Christian. But you must deal with this doubt or it will grow into something disturbing–bitterness. How to do this? Dig deeply into the Bible. Cry out to God–ask Him to reveal Himself in your life.  Talk to other Christians that you respect.  Find the answer to these doubts and squash the bitterness!

We have the choice to trust God or to trust our own judgement–this choice is indeed our responsibility and we can assign no blame to anyone but ourselves for the outcome.

8 thoughts on “Blame

  1. Well i certainly do Blame God for my singleness since there is Not a good woman to meet to share my life with.

    • Hi, Seriously Speaking! I’m sorry to take so long to get back to your comment but I have been thinking about it for a while. I think that there are many other people who likely feel the same as you and so in an effort to try to offer you and any others in the same place encouragement I have just written a post on this issue called, “I Blame God.” I don’t know your situation or the circumstances of your life, but I do hope that I can offer you a small bit of encouragement in the midst of your situation. May God bless you, Friend.

      • Hi Mary, the times were very different years ago when there were many good old fashioned women that wanted to settle down with a family which many of them did. And today there are so many very high maintenance women out there that are looking for the Rich Man instead, and can’t Accept us men for who we are. There are many of us good single men out there looking to settle down since we know how to treat a woman real well and with respect too. And speaking for myself, i can easily be a one woman man since i was married at one time before my wife cheated on me after being with her for 15 years. Now alone and single again certainly sucks for me, and meeting a good woman today is very hard since many women like dating different men all the time and just can’t settle with just one. The good old fashioned women of years ago were the best since most of them as well as many men had to struggle to make ends meat, and that is a very good reason why many marriages lasted a very long time like our parents, grandparents, aunts and uncles did. Now 50 percent of marriages end in divorce which is a real shame, especially if they have children. As for the high maintenance women out there nowadays, they should be very thankful they weren’t back in those days since they would’ve had it real tough just like the other real hard working women did back then. Thank you for your support, and have a good holiday.

      • To Mary, i was married at one time before my wife of 15 years Cheated on me which i was a very loving and caring husband that was very much Committed to her. But it wasn’t good enough for her. Now all alone and single again, and i certainly hate it. God certainly blesses many of us with a love life, and if he could only bless me as well. God i really do hate the holidays. Well Thank You very much for your support, and have a good holiday.

      • To Mary, well i do blame God for my singleness since i am all Alone now with no good woman to spend my life with. And i really wanted so much to have a family as well since so many others have been Blessed to have that. Why not me? Being 6o years old now makes it worse for me since it is very hard these days trying to find love again after a divorce which my wife was the one that Cheated on me. It really sucks to be alone for the holidays. Well thank you for your support.

      • Well for many of us Good men that are still Single as i speak is that with so many women today that are very high maintenance, independent, selfish, and very spoiled, certainly has a lot to do with it since meeting a Good woman now is very extremely Difficult for us which we really Can’t blame ourselves at all. And so many women that have their Careers do think their all that as well which many of them Won’t settle for less, and many of us men would be very happy to have a woman that Can accept us for who we are since we Don’t make the kind of Money that many of them are making today. Thank God we really had much better women years ago, otherwise many of us men would’ve Not been around today thanks to our parents, grandparents, aunts and uncles, that made it really happen. Still single today, but thank you for your support.

Leave a Reply

