Thanks Giving

I’ve had a bit of a struggle this week about what to write.  I’ve written a few drafts but they’re not quite right…so…

I was running today (what a glorious day for a run: 4 degrees Celcius with a big blue sky and the brilliance of the autumn sun!)…oopps…don’t get me started on running…Anyway, I was running today and was listening to the radio and I realized that this is Thanksgiving Weekend (sorry to those from outside of Canada).  Ok, yes, I knew that it was Thanksgiving, but I kind of forgot what it really means to us as Christians.  So I did a little reading…

The Bible talks a lot about thanksgiving:

Psalm 100
“Make a joyful noise unto the LORD, all ye lands. Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing. Know ye that the LORD he is God: it is he that hath made us, and not we ourselves; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture. Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name. For the LORD is good; his mercy is everlasting; and his truth endureth to all generations.” (KJV)

1 Corinthians 15:57, 58–But thanks be to God!  He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.  Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain. (NIV)

2 Corinthians 2: 14–But thanks be to God, who always leads us in triumphal procession in Christ and through us spreads everywhere the fragrance of the knowledge of him. (NIV)

Ephesians 5:18b,19, 20–Instead, be filled with the Spirit, speaking to one another with psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit. Sing and make music from your heart to the Lord, always giving thanks to God the Father for everything, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

1 Thessalonians 5: 16 – 18–Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

Colossians 2:6,7–So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live your lives in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.

It is pretty obvious from just these few references that we are to praise God and be thankful to Him.  And this is the one time of year that we can give thanks with our whole country; that we can reflect on what He has done for us; that we can demonstrate how much He does for us and how greatful we are to Him.

I can’t help but think of this great old hymn, Great is Thy Faithfulness, written by Thomas O. Chisholm.

  • Great is Thy faithfulness, O God my Father, There is no  shadow of turning with Thee; Thou changest not, Thy compassions, they fail  not As Thou hast been Thou forever wilt be.
  • Great is Thy faithfulness!  Great is Thy  faithfulness!   Morning by morning new mercies I see; All I  have needed Thy hand hath provided–Great is Thy  faithfulness, Lord, unto me!
  • Summer and winter, and springtime and harvest, Sun, moon and  stars in their courses above, Join with all nature in manifold witness To  Thy great faithfulness, mercy and love.
  • Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth, Thy own dear presence  to cheer and to guide; Strength for today and bright hope for  tomorrow, Blessings all mine, with ten thousand beside!

Source:  http://www.hymnal.net/hymn.php/h/19#ixzz28ZKHkNRA

As a single Christian I need to be rejoicing!  Not just now at the Thanksgiving holiday, but in every moment, every second that passes I should thank the Lord!  He has given me my fabulous nephews, my family, my friends. He has given me a job, a roof over my head, a bank account–this is more than most of the world can boast.  He has given me this beautiful world, the stars in the sky, the very air that I breathe.  He walks with me every step of every day, no matter whether I recognize His presence or not.  He has given me the Bible, His Holy Spirit, and even His only begotten Son!

Let us rejoice as the family of God that He is not as other religions see Him, but that He loves us, He is present, He wants us to know Him, and that He wants to involve us in His great work here on this earth!  God is good!

Psalm 107:1–Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his love endures forever. (NIV)

Please sing along as you watch this video of Matt Redman singing Bless the Lord O My Soul and don’t just sing it, do it!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XtwIT8JjddM

One thought on “Thanks Giving

Leave a Reply

