We Win!

Change is the end result of all true learning. 
―Leo Buscaglia

Yes, I have learned something over this Christmas time.  And perhaps my way of thinking has been changed.  So, naturally, I want to share it with you.

I was visiting my parents over Christmas and ended up at their church service on Sunday morning.  The pastor was talking about Advent, which is something that I’d heard talked about many times before so I was kind of daydreaming (surprise, surprise…). But then he said something that made me (literally!) sit up and take notice.

ad·vent

/ˈadˌvent/
noun
The arrival of a notable person, thing, or event.
(Thanks to Google)

We Christians often think of Advent as a time of year (the four Sundays preceding Christmas) but really it is the discription of an event–the coming of Christ.

Yes, you may say to me, we know that.

BUT what if this is not just a backward looking celebration?  Is Christ not coming again?  Should we not celebrate the first coming of Christ as a baby but also (with much anticipation) the future second coming of Christ as King of Kings and Conqueror?

Wow.

This totally put Christmas in a different perspective for me.  Yes, it’s cool to think of Christ coming as a baby to the earth and to enjoy celebrating His birthday.  But this was only the whispered beginning.  Let us not forget the Triumphant End!!  Let’s celebrate His second Advent along with His first!

Celebrate Christmas next year like victors!  We’ve read the end of the book.  We win!

One thought on “We Win!

Leave a Reply

