Shine

The Shining Moon

When I consider thy heavens, the work of thy fingers, the moon and the stars, which thou hast ordained…Psalm 8:3 KJV

Really, the moon is amazing.  Think about it–the moon is a hunk of rock with no real inherent beauty but it has had scores of poems, songs and stories written about it. For example, What Counsel Has the Hooded Moon by James Joyce, To the Moon by Shelly, I Watched the Moon Around the House by Emily Dickinson, and, of course, A Midsummer Night’s Dream by Shakespeare.

If all it is is a piece of rock hanging about the earth like an annoying little brother, what is it that catches our collective eye so?  Well, obviously, the fact that it reflects the sun’s light so brilliantly.  Perhaps you see where I’m going here…

I’ve been reading the gospel of John lately and, despite having dallied in its’ depths many times before, it suddenly struck me (thank you, Holy Spirit) how many times Jesus refers to the Father.  He seems to continually refer the people back to the Father.  One example is in John 10:32–…but Jesus said to them, “I have shown you many great miracles from the Father.  For which of these do you stone me?”

It was quite illuminating to me (ha ha, pun intended) that Jesus saw his job as drawing people’s eyes always back to God.  Jesus was being God’s reflection in this world.  And this is what we are to be as brothers and sisters of Christ–reflectors of God to this dark world.

We are like the moon!  Alright…a little melodramatic but consider…

Three thoughts arise from this:

1).  As from the poems, sometimes people idolize the moon and its’ beauty without recognition of the sun as the source of it’s wonder.  Can we sometimes be too interested in getting the glory for ourselves instead of, like Christ, always referring it back to the Father?

2).  Who am I to reflect God’s light?  Sometimes the lies of this world emphasize to us that we are just a hunk of rock.  Then we start to wonder how we, broken as we are, could reflect the light of God?  But this is wrong thinking.  The brilliance of the moon has very little to do with the moon itself, but everything to do with the sun.  When the earth gets in between the moon and the sun, parts of the moon become invisible and it reflects less light. Don’t let the things of the world get between you and your Source.

3).  Clouds.  There are a lot of things that can interfere with our ability to be God’s reflection on this earth, kind of like clouds that can obscure the moon’s reflected beauty.  I think we think too much.  I’m single or I’m married.  I’m a woman or I’m a man.  I’m poor or I’m rich.  I’m young or I’m old.  The only thing that really matters is that we are little Christs, mini moons reflecting God’s glory.  All the rest of this is very minor in the grand scheme of things.  Don’t let’s get distracted from our real purpose here–to draw the world’s eyes to the glory of God and His risen Son!

Don’t tell me the moon is shining; show me the glint of light on broken glass.
–Anton Chekhov

LIKE THE MOON
by me! 2001

I want to be like the moon—

Its’ perfect design intended to reflect
the Sun’s brilliance
on the dark world below.

In the night
the world forgets the Sun
and stumbles and falls
in the darkness.

The full moon shines brightly,
reflecting the brilliant Sun,
lighting up the whole landscape
providing guidance to the traveler.

But as the world creeps
in between the moon and the Sun
the moon’s luster diminishes,
its’ light fades,
its’ brilliance dies;
as it is cut off from its’ source of light.

Its’ perfect design intended to reflect
the Sun’s brilliance
on the dark world below.

My perfect design is intended to reflect
the Son’s brilliance
in the dark world.

But as the world creeps
In between me and the Son–
Where is the light?
Where is the brilliance?
Where is the reflection of my Source of light?

I want to be like the full moon…

Leave a Reply

