Forgiveness

Asking For Forgiveness

Asking For Forgiveness (Photo credit: hang_in_there)

To forgive one who has wronged you is probably one of the hardest things God calls us as His children to do.  It has to do with me letting go of what someone has done against me; an actual wrong that this world would say gives you the right to hold a grudge.

At one point in my life I blamed God for me being single.  Everyone said that I must have decided to be single, but at the time I really didn’t think I had.  I blamed God.  Why have you done this to me?  Why are you punishing me?  What have I done wrong?

It took me a while to realize that God wasn’t punishing me and that this was His best for me right now.  It took me even longer to realize that by following His will for my life that I HAD inadvertantly chosen to be single.  It was only then that I could realize that I needed to let go of my blame and embrace the gift He had given me.  This was a form of forgiveness for me–to let go of a perceived wrong and be able to move on in my relationship with God.

Forgiveness can be life-changing (for more than just you)–please watch this video about the story that inspired Matthew West’s song Forgiveness.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wz3tkHv5sbg

And now, of course you have to listen to the song Forgiveness, which always gives me chills.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1Lu5udXEZI

Forgiveness is hard, that’s not up for debate.  But look at the incredible changes that it wrought in the lives of Renee and her family and in the life of Eric.  Can you not see the great hand of God working through this mystery of forgiveness?

One thought on “Forgiveness

  1. Pingback: When Others Wrong You | Cindy Holman

Leave a Reply

