World View Number 2

I was driving to work one day and, of course, I was listening to the radio.  I was delighted to hear an old song from Michael W. Smith called Unloved.

Yes, I know, you’re going to say, “Are you crazy, Mary? You were delighted to hear a song called Unloved?”

Am I crazy?

Well, you may be right
I may be crazy
But it just might be a lunatic you’re looking for…
–Billy Joel, You May Be Right

😉

Take a look at the song’s lyrics for yourself.  I think this is one of the most amazing songs…

(Never Been) Unloved
Songwriters: KIRKPATRICK, WAYNE / SMITH, MICHAEL W.

I have been unfaithful I have been unworthy I have been unrighteous
And I have been unmerciful have been unreachable I have been unteachable I have been unwilling
And I’ve been undesirable
And sometimes I have been unwise I’ve been undone by what I’m unsure of
But because of you
And all that you went through I know that I have never been unloved

I have been unbroken I have been unmended I have been uneasy
And I’ve been unapprochable
I’ve been unemotional I’ve been unexceptional I’ve been undecided
And I have been unqualified
Unaware – I have been unfair I’ve been unfit for blessings from above
But even I can see
The sacrifice You made for me
To show that I have never been unloved
And all that you went through I know that I have never been unloved

You can see now why I was encouraged to hear this song–what a beautiful description of our need and God’s provision!

Strangely enough, though, when I arrived at work shortly after I heard another very different song on the radio, also called Unloved.  But, as you can see, it has a very different impact.

“Unloved” (partial lyrics)
duet: Jann Arden with Jackson Browne

There will be no consolation prize
This time the bone is broken clean
No baptism, no reprise and no sweet taste
of victory.
All the stars have fallen
from the sky and everything else in between
satelites have closed their eyes.
The moon has gone to sleep
Unloved…

Here I am an empty hallway,
Broken window, rainy night
I am nineteen sixty-two and I am ready
for a fight.
People crying hallelujah,
While the bullet leaves the gun
People falling, falling, falling and I don’t know
where they’re falling from
Are they
Unloved, unloved, unloved, unloved?

Yes, these are only part of the lyrics (there is a kind of happy-ish ending…).  But the reason that I’ve presented these to you is to remind you of the difference between a Christian world view and that of the world.  There are people in this world who feel unloved, but it shouldn’t be the Christians.

I think we give God a pretty short shrift.  “God, I’m single, on my own, alone.  You don’t love me!”  At times to Him we must sound like a four year-old who hasn’t gotten his way. Oh, if we could see all the times that God has saved us, has steered us safely through trouble, has worked in our circumstances to keep us safe!

God only knows the times my life was threatened just today.
A reckless car ran out of gas before it ran my way.
Near misses all around me, accidents unknown,
Though I never see with human eyes the hands that lead me home.
But I know they’re all around me all day and through the night.
When the enemy is closing in, I know sometimes they fight
To keep my feet from falling, I’ll never turn away.
If you’re asking what’s protecting me then you’re gonna hear me say:

Got His angels watching over me, every move I make,
Angels watching over me!
–Amy Grant, Angels

If only we could see these angels maybe we would see how well God watches over us, how diligently He stands with us, how powerfully He protects us, how creatively He loves us!

28 I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. 29 My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. 30 I and the Father are one.” John 10:28 – 30 NIV

Remember, the one thing we have to show the world is our love for others.  35 By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” John 13:35 NIV.  We can’t truly pass this love on to others if we don’t believe it ourselves.  This world is full of those who believe they are unloved–let’s show them that this is not the case!

2 thoughts on “World View Number 2

    • Thanks for your comment, Lanielynn! That’s the best part about writing a blog, isn’t it? There is always someone out there who can identify with our experiences!

Leave a Reply

